Upper Year


The Garfield Weston Merit Scholarship for Colleges (GWMSC) program will distribute the following upper-year awards to students currently enrolled in colleges in Canada for use during the 2006-07 academic year:

  • Up to 25 GWMSC National Awards, which comprise: a tuition waiver from a participating consortium college renewable for one or two additional years; an $8,000 stipend renewable for one or two additional years; access to summer program funding; and a $4,000 retroactive award payable upon selection to help defray accumulated educational costs.
  • Up to 18 GWMSC Regional Awards, which comprise: a $4,000 one-time scholarship.
  • Up to 15 GWMSC Provincial Awards, which comprise: a $2,500 one-year scholarship.


In order to be eligible for a GWMSC upper-year award, applicants must:

  • be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident;
  • be presently enrolled in full-time studies at a public college or Cegep leading to a certificate, diploma or applied degree (university transfer program, post-graduate, and pre-university DEC students are noteligible);
  • have at least one full academic year left in the current college program and be pursuing his or her remaining studies on a full-time basis.
  • possess a minimum academic average of 73% or equivalent performance level (students who do not have their final marks at time of application should submit available transcripts and mid-term marks; final marks will be requested if the applicant is asked to interview); and
  • be nominated by his or her current college.


A GWMSC Scholar is an outstanding college student who is:

  • passionate about his or her field of study, curious, and willing to try new things;
  • caring about his or her family, neighbourhood and community; and
  • truly interested in becoming involved and making a difference in society.


i. Nominations by Colleges

All upper-year applicants to the Garfield Weston Merit Scholarships for Colleges program must be nominated by their college. All public and accredited colleges in Canada are eligible to participate in our program and nominate up to three candidates per institution, as long as they are able to waive tuition for candidates chosen as GWMSC National Award recipients.

ii. Participating Colleges

A list of participating colleges can be found here.

Colleges interested in joining the consortium should contact:

Natasha Sawh
Director of Programs and Operations
The Canadian Merit Scholarship Foundation

Toll-free: 1-866-544-2673 x224
Phone: 416-646-2120 x224